A: NO!!!!!!

That’s the blog in a nutshell. Of course there’s a lot more to it, but if you only get one thing from this blog, let that be it!! God has never let me fall flat on my face when I’m doing what He’s told me to do. EVER!

Now when I go it on my own, well, that’s a different story. It’s not God’s fault if I choose to ignore him. Anyway, back to my story.

So this morning it was my turn to sing on the worship team. All right, cool, I kinda enjoy singing, and I really love being involved in the music at church. But this morning, since I had something else I had to do as well, I just wasn’t really…in the zone. So when I got into the car before we left, I grabbed my Bible and opened up to Isaiah 58, the passage I had “worship” written next to on my “awesome verses” list.

“Shout with the voice of a trumpet blast.
Shout aloud! Don’t be timid.”
-Isaiah 58:1a

That was like…a giant HELLOOOO from God. I’m usually a very weak, quiet singer, especially when I’m kind of the only one singing melody, which I was today. I just had to ponder that for a minute. God wants me to be LOUDDD and happy and excited! I mean, I could be quiet and excited, but…that doesn’t help lead people to His throne!

So I resolved to do that. Well, I didn’t consciously, but more like…I just knew I needed to be bold.

And you know what? My voice didn’t crack. I didn’t mess up a lot. I didn’t make a fool of myself. I didn’t fall flat on my face. God told me to sing, and gave me the grace to do it.

WOW.

One verse that has been monumentally huge in my life lately is Philippians 2:13
“For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him.”

Because He has been. Desire comes first, then as I try to start doing what He’s asking, the power comes. It’s not the other way around. We’ve all heard it, right? “God doesn’t call the equipped he equips the called”? Story of my life. And I love it.

Three months ago if I’d been basically the only one singing melody, I would have freaked. Been quiet. Shied away from it if possible.

Not anymore. God is working in me, and I am so excited.

And then! I’ve been working on accompanying people with piano and stuff. This afternoon, some of my friends invited me to go to a nursing home near here and sing with them for the residents.

Ninety minutes before we’re supposed to be there, Timmy calls me up and asks me to play piano as accompaniment.

The first time I accompanied someone, I practiced for two months. Ninety minutes? He’s crazy! I thought.

So on the car ride there, I’m like “Ooookay God, You were amazing this morning and helped me; would you be amazing again as I go do this?”

And he was. I messed up, sure, but…not to the point where it was terrible and a train wreck. The people loved it. I was so blessed to be able to brighten their day.

As I sit here writing about it, it brings me to tears. That God could take little me, and…do something so amazing. I guess it’s like that conversation from my favorite movie, Facing the Giants. It’s not verbatum, but you can get the point:

Dad: David, ever since you were born, I’ve prayed God would show His power and might in your life.
David: Then why would He make me so small? And weak?
Dad: To show how mighty He is.

God, thank You for working in my life today. Thank You for using me. Thank You for being so mighty. So wonderful. So amazing.

It’s hard to explain just how I feel right now. So, I encourage you to get out of your comfort zone, take a leap of faith, and watch God work. Prepare to be amazed. That’s the only way you’re ever going to be able to understand what I’m talking about :)

~Latte
“But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect. No, I worked harder than all of them—yet not I, but the grace of God that was with me.”
-1 Corinthians 15:10

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”
-2 Corinthians 12:9

Leave a Reply

