A strange realization hit me today while I was sitting on the couch, talking with my friend Mocha.

Since the schedule of a girl in our youth group got moved around and she can’t always make it to activities, I am now basically the oldest girl in youth group.

WOW.

That is such responsibility. All my life I’ve looked up to the older teenage girls. Now I am the one the younger ones are looking up to.

I kinda subconciously figured that out, but it hadn’t really hit me yet. Now here I stand, the oldest one part of the time.

Again, I say WOW.

Our group is small, sure, but I still take my position very seriously. Even to the guys, I’m going to do my best to be that big sister figure I’ve always admired.

So now I’m thinking about being a big sister. That’s a little hard for me; I’m the baby of the family. What would I want if I had a big sister…
I’d want her to….
-listen to me. Take me seriously. Give me advice if I asked for it.
-stand up for me. Not make fun of me when everyone else is.
-have time for me.
-help me learn and grow in Christ.

What do I love about my big brother? Everything said above. But he does poke fun at me sometimes…haha.

So now I have a roadmap. I want to get these kids on fire for Christ, no matter what that means for my “image.” If I have to look goofy, act goofy-whatever, I’ll do it. It’s important to me that these kids get the message. Get a good image of leader. Get a good image of a woman of God.

Big order.

But my God is bigger.

I am preparing my field for rain. (HA! another Facing the Giants reference! SCORE! :D)

I am ready to watch God work through me to become the leader and role model these kids need.

I am so excited :)

~Latte
“Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity.”
1 Timothy 4:12

Leave a Reply

