So tonight in Bible study we were reading the first…chapter and a halfish of 1 John. I had a ton of it already underlined (cuz it’s an AMAZING book) but one verse in particular caught my eye (I’ll post two though, haha):

“Do not love this world nor the things it offers you, for when you love the world, you do not have the love of the Father in you. For the world offers only a craving for physical pleasure, a craving for everything we see, and pride in our achievements and possessions. These are not from the Father, but are from this world.”
-1 John 2:15-16

Catch that? CRAVING.

Ok girls (and the one guy I know who sometimes reads this…lol), we can’t pretend to not understand this. Craving. I’d like to meet the girl who doesn’t have chocolate cravings.

So just in case you happen to be blessed with…not getting cravings, or are a guy, I’ll explain them. It’s like…an insatiable longing for chocolate. and even when you’ve eaten two Ghiradelli squares you still want more. it’s like, it’s never enough until you feel sick to your stomach.

So the world…offers cravings. Cravings for the affection and attention of a boyfriend, cravings for the newest iPod, cravings for love…cravings. Insatiable desires. All of which leave us empty when we recieve them.

Think about it. When I got my iPod, I was estatic. But like…the joy wears off. and then there’s some new gadget that will make me happy. ‘Course I know that’s not true, and that only God will fill me up. But it’s still a real emotion. So what was my want for an iPod? A craving. (not that my iPod was sinful! lol it’s brought me closer to God because it’s full of lovely Christian music :D)

So…don’t live to satisfy the cravings. You won’t feel eternally blissful when you get that Mustang. Your life won’t become instantly better if that boy falls for you. It’ll leave you wanting more. And that is a dangerous place to be. A boyfriend and a mustang are fine, when in God’s time. Wait until He gives them to you. Don’t be anxious to get them on your own :)

Until next time,
-Lindsey

One response »

  1. Monica says:

    Heys!! don’t be dissin’ my soon to be husband! Mustang is miiiiiineee! XXD
    just kidding. and a very good point. :)

Leave a Reply

