So today I got to babysit for a pretty needy kid. He’s had a really rough life and…well I don’t feel like ranting on parenting right now, this blog isn’t about that. But it was an awesome experience.

So I took Christopher to the park. It’s fun, it’s outdoorsy, and it’s a chance to improve his motor skills.

There was a young woman (I thought like…23ish) and a 2-year-old boy playing there. Well the boys hit it off so she and I just started talking as well.

So she says “Babysitting?”

And I’m all “Yeah!”

And she was all “Sophomore?”

“haha, no, I’m a senior.”

“Really?! You don’t look it! You’re so little!” (haha, wow, how many times have I heard THAT one? LOL….okay only three times.)

“Haha, yeah, no one thinks I am.”

*she looks away at the boys, shades her eyes from the sun, and matter of factly says* “Don’t have sex. It’s not worth it.”

“Oh, don’t worry.”

Somehow she told me, this kid is her son. She’s 18.

My heart broke for her. I cherished her honesty, her ability to admit that what she did was stupid. Her ability to share her mistakes in hopes to save another girl from pain. I was blown away.

She also asked me if I had a boyfriend. “Nope…!” I answered, unsure what spin to put in my voice from the obvious struggles in my heart.

“Good. Keep it that way for a while.”

That made me smile. It was like God was just telling me to not worry. I love the way He did it too. Through a humble, 18-year-old mother.

Her story has a happy ending however. She found a guy who is working 2 jobs to let her stay home with her son Connor. She’s going to school until 10PM and doing homework till midnight to get her paralegal degree, and waking up at 4:30 with her son. I didn’t want to press her, but you could tell she was full of regret. But she loved her son more fully than some married mothers do. It was a sweet scene to watch. It was hard for me to keep in mind that she was less than a year older than I…and so much of her life had been drastically altered. All because she didn’t….wait, and trust.

I am so thankful for her testimony. I hope she shares it with a lot of girls. She’s engaged, and I am so happy for her. I’ll never forget her, and she is so on my list of people to pray for. I’m so thankful she had a happier ending than the average teen pregnancy story.

So, just wait. You’ll be so happy you did.

-Latte

3 responses »

  1. Monica says:

    aww… that' s so nice. and sad. but still, God rocks. even if life doesn't. <3

  2. Kendall says:

    I’m so glad you had that experience — it sounds awesome. That’s wonderful that she was so willing to share her heart with you.

    I think I made it so that you can now follow my blog!

    Waiting,

    ~Kendall

  3. Kiva says:

    Linds…this post brought tears to my eyes. That girl sounds so much like me. I’d tell you the same thing over and over and over…

    love you,
    kiv

Leave a Reply

