If you can’t watch it, here’s the lines I’ll be talking about:

“I got tired of waiting,
Wonderin’ if you were ever comin’ around.
My faith in you was fading
When I met you on the outskirts of town…
And I said ‘Romeo, save me,
I’ve been feeling so alone,
I keep waitin’ for you
But you never come
is this in my head?
I don’t know what to think’
He knelt to the ground
And pulled out a ring and said:
‘Marry me, Juliet!
You’ll never have to be alone
I love you and that’s all I really know
I talked to your Dad
Go and pick out a white dress
It’s a love story baby just say…
Yes.”
-Love Story, Taylor Swift

Now, I really don’t like secular music. I don’t listen to it. But I bought this song. Why? Those lines above. I love those lines. Why? Because. they’re me.

I am getting tired of waiting; I’m wondering when I’ll meet him. And I have been feeling alone, even though I know I’m not.

But! See what happens? She did wait for him. She didn’t give up hope. And…?
“He knelt to the ground and pulled out a ring.”

So see? Just hang in there. You’ll get your love story. The most important thing for me is to give up the pen and let God write it. If you know me at all, you know I’m a hopeless romantic. Sappy movies, sappy books, sappy songs-if it’s got a sweet love story I’m there, and usually in tears. I also like to write, as if you couldn’t tell. I like to write sweet things.

Now, to look at this from God’s perspective in a way authors can relate to…
Suppose you’re writing a wonderful love story, but you’re doing it so very carefully; making sure each character is fully developed before getting to the big push of the plot. Well suppose you came in to write one morning and the manuscript and been finished. One of your characters just pulled out a pen and scribbled all over it to make it how they thought it should end.

Would your story be as amazing? Would it be so stellar that everyone who read it would be touched?

No. Not in the least. Why? Because the character didn’t understand why you, the author, put Billy in the hospital when she was in love with him. She didn’t understand why you sent Roger to war and kiss another girl. She didn’t know what your plan was. She didn’t realize how much sweeter your story would have been.

That’s what I’m trying to avoid. I don’t want to have a boring love story because I wouldn’t let God put in the sweet little intracies of it. I want a good one, one that will make me warm and fuzzy inside for as long as I live.

Ladies, give up the pen. God is a much better author than you are.

And don’t get tired of waiting; God will bring him around :) WITH a ring, ps. don’t even think he’s worth anything if he doesn’t have that ring.

-Lindsey

3 responses »

  1. Kendall says:

    *sigh* I couldn’t agree more! I can’t wait for my exciting love story — and I can’t wait to hear about yours, too, because you’d better blog it when it happens! :)

    Eternally His,

    Kendall

  2. Tiffany says:

    AWW. That was amazing! Very encouraging! I love that song!

  3. Kendall says:

    By the way — that’s one of my favorite songs now!!!

Leave a Reply

