Christmas season makes me more lonely for him, doesn’t it you? To see all those cute couples in awe at the Christmas lights and whatnot, it’s just like, Mr. X, why are you taking such a very long time to show yourself?

My amazing sister gave me a copy of I Kissed Dating Goodbye for Christmas this year. I don’t think she knows how amazing and perfect and wonderful of a gift that was. I have been pouring over it (and i’m only on page 40, i pour slowly, lol.) ever since I got home from Mexico yesterday.

This Joshua Harris guy is one of my new favorite people, haha. He talks about enjoying the “season of singleness.” Season. So this isn’t just an in-between-time from childhood to marriage. It’s a season. It’s supposed to be here. I’m supposed to learn something while I’m waiting to find mr. x.

So, in this Christmas season, don’t get weary with your Season of Singleness. Enjoy it. Embrace it. It’s a unique time in your life; a time without strings; a time to just dig for God with everything you are.

Merry Christmas, and Merry Singleness, it truly is a gift :)

“Until you relaize God’s gift of your singleness, you’ll probably miss out on the incredible opportunities it holds. Perhaps even now you can think of an opportunity you could grasp if you let go of the dating mindset. As a single, you have the freedom right now to explore, study, and tackle the world. No other time in your life will offer these chances.”
-Joshua Harris, I Kissed Dating Goodbye, chapter 4

EVERYONE on earth needs that book. just so you know ;)

2 responses »

  1. Tiffany says:

    Yeah…. the book is pretty much amazing. I think I’m on 60 something. great entry. :) Can totally relate.

  2. Kendall says:

    Hee hee, I wrote a whole ten-page paper way back in eighth grade on that book. I remember that was one of my favorite arguments: Dating takes away from that season and completely corrupts the purpose of it.

    Merry two days after Christmas!

Leave a Reply

