I’m obsessed with music.

I listen to it every single time I get the chance. Walking, working, studying, e-mailing….music is almost always on. Which makes me feel like a hypocrite for currently enjoying the silence. Hold on.

Okay. that’s better. (Aaron Shust :)

As much as I love listening to music, I’m even crazier about making it. I have been playing piano for at least ten years. I love it. It’s one of my passions. Every year for the past 8 years I have been invited to play in a huge production put on at the local university with 500 other students. Twenty-four students play the same song on 12 pianos at the same time. It’s quite an amazing experience, I must say. And this year is my last year. And I want to cry.

So today was the first rehearsal of our final year. Wow. The end of an era. Anyway. Our song this year is the first of Brahms’ Hungarian waltzes. Vy and I have our part down pat-it’s pretty stinkin’ awesome if you ask me.

So we get to rehearsal today with all the kids and our conductor-whom I love very dearly, he’s so much fun lol. He has this wonderful habit of just running through the song our first rehearsal to see how we’re doing.

Today, he tells us to just take it from the top. So we start. and we’re horrible. I mean, we’re off all over the place, and I’m pretty sure only Vy and I have our song memorized.

It was so irritating; I was watching Dr. T and trying to keep on his beat, but it was so hard with everyone else being so far off. Way ahead, way behind. I kept messing up trying to keep my focus on him and only him.

I was telling my friend Tyler about this, and realized how much it was like life. We know what the Bible says, if we meditate on it and….to put it frankly, if we care.

So when I start my walk with God, He picks up His baton, and begins to direct my life. He has the music for my life. His plan is beautiful; with delicate swells in the melody, dramatic tempo changes, sweet passages of rest…it’s a masterpiece unparalleled in its beauty and the envy of musicians everywhere.

And they will try to get in on it-God warned me of this. “Just keep your eyes on me; follow my lead.”

Sure enough, the world starts trying to play with my Lover and I. They think they know where this masterpiece is going. I watch him intensely; desperate to please Him and Him alone. The world is butchering this beautiful melody He whispered in my ear. I get distracted and hit a few sour notes; I rush the tempo; I ignore his gentle dynamic markings. I see the disappointment on His face; I have smudged His symphony.

But then He does something amazing. He works it out to be even more beautiful than before, despite the blotch I messed up on. The Master Conductor turns out an even more beautiful song–so long as I keep my eyes on Him.

Life is a song. God is the conductor. Let Him keep the beat.

Leave a Reply

