God.

I really do.

Like really, really, really, really, really love Him.

This past weekend we had a quiz meet for our church district. It’s over the book of Luke this year. So we’ve been studying pretty hard, and last quiz meet (before this past weekend) one of the quizmasters hassled us to move up to expert.

GULP!

I don’t know THAT much about Luke, for goodness’ sake!

So we went expert this weekend. Talk about scary. We came out of the morning (individual scoring rounds) with a record of 2 wins-3 losses; not horrible for a first time Expert team, but we were bottom of the rung going into the afternoon team tourney rounds.

So our first meet is against a really sweet, very smart team-one of their girls was the top overall quizzer at the meet. We lost :(

thankfully, it was double elimination.

We were like, okay, well, we’ll probably just bomb out and go home early. That is what we were expecting based on our track record.

Remarkably, we won our next round.

And our next.

And our next.

We made it to the final round.

Our bottom rung, first time as expert level team made it to the finals.

We got second. Correction:
God gave us second :)
My friend and I just started crying when it was over; not because we lost our last match but because God had blessed us so incredibly much to get second. We thought there was no way we were going to be winning. Timmy, Monica, and I were just awestruck. Timmy was like “How are we not getting killed?” I was pretty speechless, which is unusual if you know me………

And as we walked up to get our plaque for SECOND place [:)], Psalm 37:23 jumped into my mind:
The Lord directs the steps of the godly.
He delights in every detail of their lives. [NLT]

That makes me smile :) God, the creator of the universe, cares about my silly little quiz meet; shoot, He even cares enough to give us second. Awesome.

I still don’t know how we got second. It was all God. there is no way I can take any credit for it. And I’m not just saying that. Absolutely in no way could we have done that without His hand. It was kind of a miracle. And I like it :)

“Therefore, as the Scriptures say, “If you want to boast, boast only about the Lord.””
-I Corinthians 1:31 NLT

God is awesome. I happen to be in love with Him. And He is so worth loving. :)
-Lindsey

Leave a Reply

