If you’ve been a reader of mine for any amount of time, (First of all, I love you!! haha :D), you probably remember my post entitled “It’s on,” in reference to picking a fight with the devil for the soul of my piano teacher.  Ringing a bell?  Good!  :)

Okay, so, here’s the story.  At church Saturday night, the pastor talked about having faith, and about how living a life of faith isn’t always…comfortable, or easy, and he asked what step we could take to live by faith.  And I just felt God saying…Your piano teacher doesn’t know Me. Why?  I decided then and there that that had to change, this Wednesday.

Then I got sick on Tuesday. Really? Like really?

Sick.  I was extremely bummed about having to skip piano and this chance to talk to my piano teacher (After I was so sure it’s what God wanted!!) so I started thinking, and I remembered a story my old pastor told about how he was sure it was satan making someone in his family sick every week so he and his wife couldn’t go to Bible study together.  I told my friend and my mom how odd it was that I got sick sooo stinking fast the day before I was supposed to talk to Mr. Piano Teacher, and they both had the same thought I had-maybe this was an attack against him hearing the gospel.  But my mom was like “But you’re sick, ya know? coughing all over him wouldn’t exactly be the best idea.” and I agreed. But then thought about it…”If God told me to do this, couldn’t he take away my cough?”

So I grabbed my Bible and was just like, okay God. I don’t want Mr. Lorenz to get sick, I need to know exactly what you want. And God showed me some of these verses fromIsaiah 40:

v26, 28-31″Look up into the heavens.
      Who created all the stars?
   He brings them out like an army, one after another,
      calling each by its name.
   Because of his great power and incomparable strength,
      not a single one is missing…
Have you never heard?
      Have you never understood?
   The Lord is the everlasting God,
      the Creator of all the earth.
   He never grows weak or weary.
      No one can measure the depths of his understanding.
  He gives power to the weak
      and strength to the powerless.
  Even youths will become weak and tired,
      and young men will fall in exhaustion.
  But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.
      They will soar high on wings like eagles.
   They will run and not grow weary.
      They will walk and not faint.”

So that was it.  I called him to un-cancel and he had already left his house.  What? How could he be gone?! 

I’m in the kitchen, crying, thinking I’ve failed God.  And God was like…call the people who have lessons before you.

And he came! He didn’t say anything after I showed him the evangicube but he was very open to it, and I told him I’d be praying for him and that I was always available if he had questions-ever.  It takes like, seven times of hearing the gospel for the average person before they accept Christ, right? Well now he’s heard it at least twice. 

It was such a rush to just…step out on faith that God would back me up. I absolutely hate speaking of any sort, but God really calmed me down and gave me the words.  And I didn’t even cough all over him. Awesome.

God has your back.  I know you hear that all the time, but you know what?  Try it.  Just try it once and you’ll know exactly what I mean.  Being absolutely powerless and letting God use you is the most amazing feeling in the world.  God gave me a confident peace about the whole situation.  It was absolutely wonderful.  God keeps his promises, not a single question there.

One response »

  1. Chuck says:

    Sweet story. I know that feeling.

Leave a Reply

