A long time ago at impact, we were asked what we wanted our legacy to be.  What kind of impression on other impacters and the impact team as a whole we wanted to leave.

I can honestly say I hadn’t really thought about that before.  I tried to love everybody, but I didn’t really think of that.  Ever since then, it’s been hard to get that off my mind.  What kind of impression am I leaving on the world?  On the city?  On the kids who look up to me?

What do I want people to remember?  Jesus.  I want to be the woman of advice and love.  The woman who was available when they needed her.  The woman who tried to do things to make their days brighter.  I want so much to just love like Jesus.  So much.

We have a new girl in our youth group, junior higher, who moved up from the kids department.  The way she looks up to us older girls has really just refocused me lately.  She watches us.  She wants to be just like us.  She wants to be like me.  Wow.  No pressure right?  I’m only helping to mold a life.  I want to be worthy of her affection.  Leading by example is the best way.  I can tell her pay attention, be still, be gentle. But I have to live it.  Saying that won’t do a bit of good.

If you listen to the radio you’ve probably heard “The Blessing” by John Waller.  I absolutely love that song.  If you haven’t heard it, check it out.

What kind of mark are you making on people?  What will they remember about you?

“Let it be said of us-while we walked among the living-
Let it be said of us-by the ones we leave behind-
Let it be said of us-that we lived to be a blessing for life
Let it be said of us that we gave to reach the dying
Let it be said of us-by the fruit we leave behind
Let it be said of us that our legacy is blessing for life

This day, You set life, you set death right before us, this day
Every blessing and curse is a choice now
And we will choose to be a blessing for life

Let it be said of us that our hearts belonged to Jesus
Let it be said of us that we spoke the words of life
Let it be said of us that our heritage is blessing for life”
-The Blessing, John Waller

One response »

  1. Hey Lindsey! It’s Natalie from The Heavenly Bridegroom. Sorry I haven’t commented in a while! I’ve been reading some of your past posts, and the posts you’ve written on guys… that’s when the idea hit me. This girl has talent! (Not to mention that you never really sugarcoat the struggles you’re sharing!) So after I thought on it for a few days, I felt like I should invite you to be a guest author on The Heavenly Bridegroom. If you have any interest in doing so, please leave me a comment, or e-mail me. Love reading your stuff. Keep up the good work! -Blessings

Leave a Reply

