I mean, lessons besides how to work well and work hard…

I was watering Allison’s plants here yesterday (housesitting, don’t forget).  She has a little garden with like, basil, squash, peppers, tomatoes, and strawberries; I’m supposed to be able to get to eat from all of them except probably the strawberry plant-yum!  So anyway, every morning when I go out, all the leaves are all wilty…except for the strawberry plant.

And I thought, isn’t that interesting, only the plants that are producing fruit need water.

And that made me think of life; the only people who realize how thirsty they are for God are the ones producing fruit for His kingdom.  They realize they can’t do it on their own, and that they need the life that is Jesus to do it all.  The strawberry plant could probably go a couple of days before it showed signs of lacking water; but the other plants go 24 hours and they’re totally wilted.

Which plant are you?  Does it take you a couple of days to realize you haven’t been seeking God?  Or do you wake up each morning absolutely parched for the Living Water?

Another thing…I was ironing my curtains tonight (they’re absolutely huge…but so pretty!!!) and I accidentally folded it and then ironed it a little tiny like two inch crease.  It took all of three seconds for this mistake to happen, and a whole lot longer to get it out.

It kind of got me thinking about how easy it is to fall into bad habits, and how hard it is to get out of them.  Just ironing out the plain wrinkles wasn’t so bad; it was the one I created that was annoying.

I can’t think of a really awesome question to end this analogy with.  Just think about it. And give me YOUR amazing wrap-ups for it!! :)

Leave a Reply

