Check out this entry from my myspace blog from June 19, 2008 :)

Well, most of you know I’ve been stressing out over here lately.  So yesterday (or maybe the day before…) I cooked up a scheme to start waking up in time to watch the sunrise as sort of a way to really refocus each morning and just wake up and take it easy for a little while.

So the sun rose at 5:17 AM this morning. (well duh on the AM part…) My alarm went off at 4:50 and I was so, so tempted to just shut it off and go back to sleep.  I mean, I could hardly even open my eyes!  So while I’m debating, my iPod alarm goes off and starts playing I don’t regret by Barlow Girl.  So I’m like, FINE!  I don’t want to regret not waking up, so I pulled myself up and grabbed my Bible and camera and headed outside for the roof.

Well, Dad put away the ladder last night so I was kind of stuck on the ground.  I tried climbing up on the wall and then the roof, but I was too much of a chicken to actually make it, lol.  But at about 5:14ish my Dad was nice and came out and put the ladder up for me.  Awww :)

Wow guys.  If you have nothing else to do this summer, spend a morning watching the sunrise and reading the Word.  It is amazing.  Reading a metaphor for the dawn and experiencing it is just…it’s indescribable how much it comes alive.  So many songs were running through my head and it was really just great. 

The sunrise is kind of like change.  The most interesting part about it is seeing how it affects everything around it.  I thought it was cool how you could still see the moon, and the sky opposite the sun was purple-periwinkle and gorgeous. 

So of course I have verses.  I also found just such a renewed hunger up there, away from the world and its pressures, just sitting and watching the ingenuity of the Creator peek out from the mountains to warm the earth.  I wish I could have bottled it up to share with you all.  In a way though, I guess God did through these verses, at least for me :-)

I really love all of Isaiah 58, but this verse is one of those metaphors taking a new meaning:
“Then your salvation will come like the dawn, and your wounds will quickly heal.  Your godliness will lead you forward, and the glory of the Lord will protect you from behind.” -Isaiah 58:8

Like the dawn.  Fresh, gorgeous, slowly trickling out to affect far as the eye can see and beyond.  Warm, pleasant, new. 

“As for me, I look to the Lord for help.  I wait confidently for God to save me, and my God will certainly hear me.  Do not gloat over me, my enemies!  For though I fall, I will rise again.  Though I sit in darkness, the Lord will be my light. “Micah 7:7-8

Where is another God like You, who pardons the guilt of the remnant, overlooking the sins of his special people?  You will not stay angry with your people forever because You delight in showing unfailing love.  Once again you will have compassion on us.  You will trample our sins under your feet and throw them into the depths of the ocean!  You will show us your faithfulness and unfailing love as you promise to our ancestors Abraham and Jacob long ago.”  Micah 7:18-20

“The Lord replied: ‘Look around at the nations; look and be amazed!  For I am doing something in your own day, something you wouldn’t believe even if someone told you about it.” -Habakkuk 1:5

^^I don’t know about you, but I want to be in on that one! :-)

“Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires.  Commit everything you do to the Lord.  Trust him, and he will help you.  He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn, and the justice of your cause will shine like the noonday sun.” -Psalm 37:4-6

“Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for him to act.  Don’t worry about evil people who prosper or fret about their wicked schemes…The Lord directs the steps of the Godly.  He delights in every detail of their lives.  Though they stumble, they will never fall, for the Lord holds them by the hand.” -Psalm 37:7, 23-24

“I am counting on the Lord; yes, I am counting on him.  I have put my hope in his word.  I long for the Lord more than sentries long for the dawn.  Yes, more than sentries long for the dawn.” -Psalm 130:5-6

“I lift my hands to you in prayer.  I thirst for You as parched land thirsts for rain.” -Psalm 143:6

“People ruin their lives by their own foolishness and then are angry at the Lord…Lazy people sleep soundly, but idleness leaves them hungry…You can make many plans, but the Lord’s purpose will prevail.“-Proverbs 19:3, 15 & 21

Have an amazingly beautiful and God-filled day. :)”

Jesucristo es el mismo ayer, y hoy, y por los siglos.  Jesus is the same yesterday, and today, and forever.  (Hebrews 13:8)  Today is proof.  I watched the sunrise again this morning, and it was just as excellent and refreshing and wonderful.  God is the best :)

Leave a Reply

