“The way we learn what God expects of us is by reading His Word. We can’t begin to make the right moves if we don’t know what they are. And we can study all we want in this holy manual of life and learn everything we are supposed to do, but at some point we stil have to jump in the water. The proof of our sincerity is in the doing, not just the knowing.

It’s one thing to make a list of do’s and don’ts, but it’s quite another to have a heart for God’s ways and a soul that longs to obey them. It’s one thing to read about life, it’s another to live it. Obedience is something you do; having a heart to obey is something you pray about.

Lord, help me be diligent to put Your Word inside my soul faithfully every day. Show me where I’m wasting time that could be better spent reading the Bible. Give me the ability to memorize it. Etch it in my mind and heart. Make it become a part of me. Change me as I read it. Help me to obey it.”

-Stormie Omartian, The Power of Praying As You Graduate, page 25

One way I plan to do this prayer is to try to remember to read the Bible or pray in those times I used to be doing makeup.  Right now I facebook or watch tv or something. But no, I really should devote it to prayer or reading.
What little times can you make the most out of?
Leave a Reply

