I’ve been in awe the past couple of days at just…God.  His timing.  His plans.  His wisdom.  And how true He is to His word.

C’mon, I’d like to invite you to take a bit of a jog down memory lane with me.

The date is….anytime before July, in 2008.  The scene is church, and the girl is Lindsey.  Lindsey can play the piano, but she is too afraid to play on worship team.

Fast forward to June, 2008.  Lindsey goes on a missions trip to Mexico, where God uses her in ways she didn’t know were possible; she can communicate with little children who speak a different language because God gave her the ability to pick up Spanish fairly well; God touches her body and gives her strength to do construction in the mornings (and wake up!!) in the Mexico sun.  God just is giving her all this strength she doesn’t have on her own.

Then Lindsey is sitting in church one Sunday; there’s a youth council meeting after church for a teen service.  God tells Lindsey…it’s time for the teens to run the music at teen service.  Lindsey proposes the idea; the council is excited; the ball starts rolling; Lindsey starts freaking out.

“For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him.” -Philippians 2:13

That’s it.  Lindsey knows she can do it.

Fast forward a couple more months; her good friend Timmy calls her at 1PM to ask her to play piano at the nursing home with him at 2PM-with music she’s never seen.

God doesn’t let Lindsey fall on her face; in fact, she rather enjoys it. 

Time goes on; Lindsey keeps playing at the nursing home, and even starts playing on the worship team more.

Back to now….August 2009.  Lindsey, the girl who a mere year ago shuddered at the thought of playing piano……anywhere……….
volunteered to play piano for church. 
Played for a worship team at a church she’d never been to, with music she’d had less than 24 hours; one song she ran through twice before the service.

Do you see it?!  Do you see God making Philippians 2:13 coming true?!  Is that not the COOLEST thing ever?!  I am so excited.  I just…….when I realized that, it was just…….wow.  How amazing is God that…he uses me.  I’m nothing special; but God touches my hands and lets me play; God opens doors for me to learn and grow to be able to play even better.  I’m just………..awestruck. 

How can I not talk about this?  I say this not to boast at all; everything I am today is a direct result of the hand of God in my life.  No way on earth could I have played this morning, or auditioned last night, if it were not for God giving me the DESIRE and POWER to do what pleases Him.

“If I must boast, I will boast of the things that show my weakness.” -2 Corinthians 11:30

Leave a Reply

