“Take take, take it all!” –Take it All, Hillsong United
“I surrender everything to your control” –Completely, Ana Laura
Come break me down” –Break me Down, Tenth Avenue North
“Won’t you change me from who I’ve been lately?” –Change me, Sanctus Real

These songs sound familiar?  We sing them all the time, don’t we?  We’re always asking God to do what He wants and to make us more like Him.  To take away what we don’t need, break down our bad habits, and change us completely.

But how many times do we get upset when He does it?  How much do we resist any changes He’s trying to make?

I was sitting here, talking to God, telling Him I wasn’t particularly excited about some changes that He was going to be making in my life in a few months.  I was like “God, seriously, why does that have to happen?  Can’t things just stay like they are right now?  I really like them.”

Then Take it all (Or well, Tomalo, the Spanish version) came on my iTunes.

Umm…ouch!  How many times have I sang that?  I’ve told God he can do whatever he wants in my life. And now…I’m trying to talk him out of it.  That means I’m totally going back on  my word, not the best idea.

God, help me to understand what I’m singing, to mean it, and to live it.  God I trust that your plan for my life will supersede whatever my dreams are, and that You have a good reason for this upcoming difficulty.  Help me cling to You when it happens; Your will is the best for us anyway, and that’s what I deep down want.

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.  Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.  But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it—he will be blessed in what he does.” -James 1:22-25 (yeah not an exact tie in, but, it’s still an amazing verse)

One response »

  1. slowdowntime says:

    I think.. I think that people get too comfortable in situations when it is all going well. And your situation has been absolutely amazing. But it’s time to change things up a little. God likes to change things up to help us grow. And I believe God is going to use the upcoming situation to help you grow. And I believe that it will be good. It will be hard, but good. if this doesn’t make sense you can text me lol.

Leave a Reply

