Christmas time always tears me in two.  I realize this is the season in which we celebrate our Savior’s birth, which is incredible!  But it all feels so…busy!

Christmas always feels so materialistic, and rushed.  Traffic is impossible, everybody is going everywhere to buy a bunch of junk that’s going to end up in the closet or under the bed in a few months anyway.

“Happy holidays!” is what everybody says, we can’t even say Christmas because it has “Christ” in it.

And thanksgiving!  I don’t understand how gorging ourselves makes us realize we’re thankful.  It seems to me that like, serving others would be a much better thanksgiving tradition. (note to self for when it’s my decision what we do on thanksgiving)

Black Friday!  Insanity!  The day after we say we’re so thankful for everything we have, we go out and spend way too much money on more junk for ourselves!

It just makes me sad how superficial this time of year is.  I don’t know what the answer is, because everybody likes a present.  I understand that, I’m not condemning that at all.  It’s just sad that that is what we focus on.  That the best thing about the month is the day we get stuff.  Last Christmas I got the chance to spend the days before Christmas in Mexico at an orphanage.  Those kids have very little, and are so wonderful and loving and sweet.  What I’d give to go back…!

I think in America, it’s harder for us to trust God, because we have so much stuff.  If everything we need is within our reach, why do we have to rely on God?

Don’t lose sight of Jesus this season.  Don’t lose sight of love, and giving, and grace, joy, mercy…. Don’t count on yourself to make everything all right; reject the world, embrace the Savior.

One response »

  1. slowdowntime says:

    I totally agree. Completely. It is so sad. I just wish we could all get together with our loved ones and focus on God and celebrate Jesus’ birth.
    I agree about Thanksgiving too. Maybe next year you and I can go to a soup kitchen or something and help serve. Or even organize our own thing for people.

Leave a Reply

