I normally enjoy a few of the shows on TLC, stuff like “Say yes to the dress,” “18 kids and counting”…yes, I am thoroughly girl.

Today when I flipped to channel 55, this show Toddlers and Tiaras was on.  I had heard about it, and I was intrigued.

I am absolutely horrified.  Absolutely. horrified.  These parents are dressing their little girls up like barbie dolls, only very very mature little barbie dolls.  the put on fake hair, put on absolutely provocative outfits, load on the makeup, and subject them to the craziest things.

These little girls are standing on stage as the judges are calling out “Most beautiful eyes,” “Most beautiful smile,” “prettiest girl,” etc.  Like seriously!?  They’re six years old and we are already telling them the only worth they have is their eyes or smile.  What happens when this little girl gets a little overweight?  What happens when she gets a zit?  What happens if she gets cancer and loses her hair?

There is a total difference between being feminine and being…like that.  sure dresses are fun, whatever, but. Honestly?  These girls are getting such big heads over their looks, they’ll be really fun teenagers…

Makeup.  On a six year old.  On a four year old.  on a baby that can’t even walk.  It’s ridiculous, I can’t believe it.  These parents are telling their girls to be more sassy.  They’re yelling at them to win.

like seriously?  we put so much value on being pretty.  So much.  What about being smart?  What about being loving?  Compassionate?  Gentle?  A servant?

It just makes me cry.  The entire world of these girls is themselves.  And their looks, and…it’s awful.  No wonder we have teenagers with eating disorders, girls who won’t say no, and all the other problems we have in our world.

I could go on forever but I’m pretty sure I’d just be repeating myself.  This is a new form of child abuse I believe.  It’s ridiculous.  absolutely horrible.  There has to be something I can do, I don’t know what, but there’s something.  It’s awful.

One response »

  1. Wow. I’d never heard of that show… and wow. I couldn’t agree more with you. Parents should be instilling values such as kindness, compassion, and reaching out to others instead of teaching little girls to be focused on self at such a high degree.

Leave a Reply

