I write to you today, just like. disgusted really.  I’m a big big fan of purity. I really really really want to be pure in heart, mind, action, word, thought, deed…but it’s so hard.  There is so much trying to rob my husband of this gift I want to give him–a pure, set-apart Lindsey.

It’s pretty bad when…religion class is the one that leaves you struggling with your mental purity the most.  My religion teacher is…he’s very knowledgeable, but very. crass. he insists on going into explicit detail on anything sexual remotely mentioned in the Bible.  Like right now we’re going through Genesis.  Any crude reference he talks about for extended periods of time, but when Joseph refused to sleep with Potiphar’s wife?! he just glazes over it.

Excuse me sir. Joseph was a real man. You are not.

It’s just disgusting how perverted he makes everything.  I mean, it’s just disturbing, and awkward.  I really don’t need to know every detail and ramification and implication of everything in Genesis.  I’m quite content to take the sexual side of things at face-value, really.

And then the media!  Thankfully I don’t really have time for TV. but I really, really wanted to see that Dear John movie with Channing Tatum.  It looked absolutely adorable.  But no.  They have to throw in shirtless guys, sex scenes, and crude language. Like really?! Does anyone even know what real love is anymore?!

It’s just been a battle lately.  Guarding what goes into your mind is super important, and it’s really irritating when your supposed-to-be religion class is the one that leaves you struggling the most.  That’s why I need to memorize Philippians 4:8 and 2 Corinthians 10:5:

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”

Using these two verses, I’m desperately trying to fight off all this junk the world is throwing at me; by taking a though captive, running it through Philippians 4:8, and bitterly crushing it if it fails the test.

It’s definitely one of the hardest things I’ve had to do in my life.  I can’t even imagine how much harder it would be if I were a guy.  That just totally breaks my heart. But that’s another story.

So purity.  How’s it going for you?  How can I pray for you? Don’t give up fighting!  God wants us to be pure; it’s never not worth it.

Leave a Reply

