The imagination is a wonderful gift. It brings books to life, gives birth to creativity, and just can make life so much more colorful. I really enjoy imagining things. I remember when I was little I would imagine fields of skydancers (a toy that was all the rage in the early 90’s) to stave off nightmares. Kinda weird, I know, but… I would also imagine beautiful dresses (and still do, to be honest). I love stretching my imagination by writing stories. I really like my imagination.

But this amazing thing called an imagination that so many times has been my best friend can also be my worst enemy. When you’re younger, your mind is so much purer that your imagination has very few dark places it can wander. But now? Now my imagination has been exposed to the horrors of the world. The immorality, the sweet sappiness of chick flicks…all sorts of things that come into my mind and invade the things my imagination lingers on.

I can not even begin to tell you how many ways I have imagined being asked out. Can’t tell you. I cannot begin to tell you how many times I have imagined my wedding day–dress, location, sweet smiles, blah blah blah. It’s just so totally unhealthy when I’m trying so hard to focus on God.

In truth, I am my own worst enemy. So many times I find myself thinking about a certain someone, and cute things done or plausible. And it’s just not healthy. I have no right to be thinking about the future (“fantasizing” i guess is a common term, but it sounds like…not..G-rated…which….it’s not.). I have no business consuming my mind with stories of what life *could* be like if we were all perfect and stuff like that actually happened. What does it create? Confusion. Dissatisfaction. It’s just not healthy.

And it’s super hard to get my mind to focus on other things. I either create cute stories in my mind, or stress about school and life. There’s no middle ground. At the beginning of the semester, I was really dedicated to memorizing verses and turning those over in my mind when I found a dull moment. But that was really hard, and I’m really lazy I guess because I sort of gave up. Which…was probably the worst thing I could have done.

So, I am going to work on correcting my error. I want to get back to that habit, that determination to surrender even my imagination to my Creator. He’s so good to me, so patient when I mess up. I just want to be more like Him every day, and I think this is my next step.

I’d like to challenge you to get a good grip on your thoughts. Just because my thoughts aren’t immoral doesn’t make them healthy. Really take a look this week at what your mind lingers on; does it glorify God? Would you be ashamed if anyone else knew what you were thinking about?

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things” -Philippians 4:8, ESV

Leave a Reply

