I love having wise women in my life, and I’m so thankful God has let us cross paths.

Last night I got to have a really great talk with a revolutionary (definition: one who attends Revolution, my church). I’ve spoken with her before, but last night we just got to a whole new level.

This incredible woman waited 41 years for her husband. 41. That’s…a  whole lot longer than 18. So I was kind of just probing her mind and her heart, and she said so many beautiful things, I was so blessed to just listen to her.

She mentioned how when she was in her 20s, there were no guys paying any attention to her. Zero. No one acted interested, no one seemed to care. I asked her if, while waiting for her husband, she ever felt like something was wrong with her.

“Absolutely.” she answered. But she said her sister gave her some words of wisdom: “God is just making you invisible to every man but your husband.”

I can’t say that’s necessarily a Biblical idea, but isn’t it a beautiful one? That God would be protecting my heart by making every guy who isn’t the one God has set apart for me just blind to who I am? It’s really a comforting thought.

A lot of times, the world will try to tell us that the reason we aren’t being pursued is because we are not good enough. We are not beautiful enough, we are not skinny enough, we are too boring.

I am here to tell you that the world lies. You are beautiful, God made you and he doesn’t make mistakes. Supermodels are fake people who don’t eat, you are a real, vibrant young woman whom God loves very much, just like you are. Read Psalm 139 if you don’t believe me.

I am kind of a teeter totter between feeling inadequate and getting frustrated with modesty. I completely love honoring the men in my life by being modest, honestly, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes it’s annoying to be like…I could so totally pull off the immodest look, and look really hot by the world’s standards, but nooo, I have to be good. But modesty is so, so important. The very act of dressing immodestly is selling yourself short, it’s saying you don’t believe you are worth anything, you don’t think you are important enough to be worked for. Every time I start getting tired of modesty, I just have to picture any of my three important men in my life. Who am I to be a stumbling block? How does that love them? Shopping for modest stuff is absolutely annoying, I get it, but…You tell people how they can treat you. If you show off your entire body, well guess what? That’s what they’re going to want. If you conceal your body, only the ones who are attracted to your character will start coming your way. The choice is yours, but I don’t want to be treated like a piece of meat.

One more thing. The end of Proverbs 31 is all about a wife of noble character. I’ve been kind of analyzing those verses and finding the components that apply to every woman, not just a wife. This is my favorite for the day:

“She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.” -Proverbs 31:25

Clothed with strength and dignity. Just saying those words makes me sit up straighter.

I don’t think I would feel very dignified if I knew every guy was running his eyes up and down my body when I went somewhere. I wouldn’t feel very dignified if I sold myself short, and I wouldn’t feel very strong if I let satan tell me I am inadequate.

So I challenge you to put on your strength and dignity every day, and to guard your mind and your heart against the attacks of the world. The lies of this world break my heart, they are so damaging to young women. Don’t forget to encourage the girls in your life, we need more women of noble character.

2 responses »

  1. Natalie says:

    Really like the idea that God may keep us “invisible” until the right one comes along. Never thought of it like that before. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

