I’m not ditching my series, this weekend has just been kinda crazy with work and stuff. I love my job, ps.

I’ve really been challenged lately on the aspect of not fearing the future and unconditionally trusting God. I realize that I have not been very diligent in that.

I get scared very easily when it comes to the future. The unknown, the new, the change…they all just paralyze me with fear to the point where I just feel sick and can only dwell on the possible outcomes and cry from just sheer fear. It’s pretty bad. (okay, so only really big things…not little newness or changes, but stuff like moving for college, and…stuff…)

And lately, I’ve been realizing that…when I worry about things, when I get so afraid of the changes, I’m telling God that He doesn’t know what’s going on. I’m like “Well, Yes, God, I believe you have a plan for me, BUT…”

Those sentences are always bad, the ones where you agree with someone before the infamous “but…” I always hate it when people say that, I can’t even imagine how crazy it must make God. I keep thinking about a sermon I heard on Hebrews a long old time ago, where Josh just kept pointing out that God made everything. like, all of it. and if He can make everything, I’m pretty sure he can handle this little thing over here, since he, ya know, made it…and…everything involved in it…

So then the question naturally comes up: okay, so I understand that being so afraid means that I’m not trusting God…now what?

I…honestly don’t know the answer. But my plan is to just saturate everything in prayer. I find that prayer always makes me feel better; I think when we pray it makes us more aware of our shortcomings and God’s awesomeness, and it just…reminds us that God is really in control of the situation. It’s really a comforting thought, if you can wrap your mind around it, that God is in control and all I have to do is follow his voice. If you can wrap your mind around it.

My friend Timmy (and Tyler. And Tiffany.) always tells me I worry too much. And he’s right. He is so good at sitting me down and being like “Okay Lindsey…You’re worried about xyz. But, you aren’t looking logically at abc. Therefore…xyz is so not worth worrying about.” I’m so thankful for people who will just tell me to back up and look at the big picture, and to give it back to God.

Ugh. I am so tired of not being perfect.

So I challenge you, along with myself, to really focus in on not fearing the future, on being able to trust God with everything that is coming at you. It’s scary, I get it, but living with Jesus means we don’t have to be afraid anymore. It’s time to embrace the power of the cross. It’s time to embrace the power of the blood; it’s time to stop fearing the future and focus on being who God wants us to be, and God will take care of the future.

Leave a Reply

