My second summer class of the summer (wow, welcome to redundantville) started yesterday. It’s called Philosophy and Ethics (or something like that). Anyway, it’s a philosophy class. And so we’re going to be getting into some pretty interesting discussions.

Well today, my teacher…he said a lot of stuff. A lot of it I didn’t agree with (but I’m horrible at arguing back), but I couldn’t even bring myself to formulate good arguments against him because there was this huge lump in my throat. This man is so stubborn, so strong-willed, and so firmly set against God. He thinks creation is absolutely preposterous, religion is a security blanket, and is just so jeeringly mocking of belief systems that cannot logically explain everything.

And it breaks my heart. I almost started crying right in the middle of class. Not because he was spewing out disdain for my beliefs, but because his heart is so, so hard. I just sat there wondering how can you get through to someone like that? What can you say to someone who is so adamantly against everything you stand for? how can I show him Jesus?

I feel so responsible to show this man Jesus. I wasn’t even supposed to be in his classroom, but I am. But I don’t know how I am supposed to do that. I can’t have stupid arguments to defend my beliefs, I have to learn to understand how he thinks to defend what I believe in ways that will make him understand and (hopefully) respect what I have to say. But I know that nothing I say will change his mind, only God can do that.

It just breaks my heart to see this man so confident that he has all the answers….but so totally lost.

Leave a Reply

