For some incredible reason, God has chosen to bless me immensely with the most outstanding group of young men ever.

I was just sitting here, trying to do homework for summer school, when I got sidetracked into thinking about yesterday.

Yesterday morning, I knew my best friends were going caving, and I was worried about them and determined not to go with them.

Yesterday late morning, my best friends talked me into going. What could I say when they flashed their “C’mon Liinnnddsssseeeyyyy” grins, pleaded with their eyes, and got their mom to tell me about her parachuting experience? Haha, so I conceded and decided to go face my fears with them.

My mom didn’t even hesitate when I asked her if i could go, which really surprised me because she’s normally so worried about me doing weird things.

Which brings me to why my friends are such a blessing. My mom didn’t even think twice to let me go into a cave 90 minutes away with four boys. Didn’t even bother her at all. And it didn’t scare me, either, the being the only girl with four boys thing. These boys are so respectful, so loving, and so gentle with me that I am never afraid when I am with them. I know without a shadow of a doubt that they will never try to violate me and will absolutely not put up with someone else trying to. I know  that they will look out for me in dark slippery muddy caves and not let me get stuck somewhere or leave me behind. I know that down to my toes and the depths of my being. These boys are safe.

What a blessing!! In a world where so many girls are raped, where so many girls are pushed farther than they ever wanted to go, I am surrounded by young men who actively protect and respect me. It’s crazy, and I am so thankful for them.

Who are my amazing group of men? First off there’s Kevin. We grew up together, and a few semesters ago we got into the same chemistry class on accident. It’s been so much fun getting to know him again, he’s changed so much from when we were younger. Kevin was super surprised I went yesterday lol, he was like “I think you’re the only girl I know who will ever go in that cave…” boo yah!

Then there’s Timmy. Timtim! Timmy is definitely like a brother to me. He’s always watching out for me like I’m his sister. He’s told me before that I’m like an older sister in that I’ll say things that sound really smart, but like a younger sister in that he feels like he has to look out for me. He totally caught me from falling yesterday in the cave haha. We were climbing a really steep and slippery slope and he was behind me and caught my foot when it slipped. He always listens to me when I need an ear, and always gives me good advice. This guy is going to go far in his life.

And then, of course, there’s Tyler. I don’t think I have ever been such good friends with a guy as I am with Tyler. We’re so similarly minded on so many things, and I can just spill my guts out to him whenever something is bothering me, and he’ll help me make sense of it, all in a way that points back to God and what God wants from my life. Tyler is absolutely always looking out for me also, it’s so sweet. Whenever we’d get to really tight places in the cave yesterday, I’d start panicking haha. I was doing all right until we got to this one crazy hole that you had to go through on your side and like lying down basically. I was absolutely terrified, but Tyler just kept telling me “You can do this, everything is going to be all right.” He definitely made me feel better and was almost always either one step ahead of me or one step behind, ready to calm me down when I got overwhelmed or help me through a tight spot.

Clearly, God has put amazing young men in my life. It’s kind of ridiculous when I think about it, but I am so thankful for them. The twins at least are by far my closest guy friends, and I am so thankful for the chance to be in their lives and have them in mine. It’s like God just threw a big bright shiny ball of sunshine in my life that I don’t deserve. I don’t deserve all the fun times we have together and the amazing counsel they give me. They’re just amazing, and such a blessing. I hope I can be even half of the blessing they’ve been to me.

Okay okay, back to philosophy homework…

The Caving Crew :)

(The other guy is the twins’ cousin; I don’t know him very well so he’s not in the blog…sorry dude!)

Leave a Reply

