This is what I’m afraid of.

“There had been a time, when of all the large party now filling the drawing-room…, they would have found it most difficult to cease to speak to one another…there could have been no two hearts so open, no tastes so similar, no feelings so in unison, no countenances so beloved. Now they were as strangers; nay, worse than strangers, for they could never become acquainted.”

-Persuasion, Jane Austen (p959 in my giant 5-novel book)

Now you know what I’m doing my best to not fear. Those words just make me ache all over inside, especially when the thought that it could become you and I creeps in.

2 responses »

  1. I love how Jane Austen can describe situations and feeling exactly how we feel them. Do you have a favorite book of hers?

  2. ivory627 says:

    This is actually the first I’ve been able to persevere through haha. I love what she has to say but I have to have absolute silence to be able to soak it all in. I actually haven’t even finished Persuasion :( summer school sucked up all my time, and now I’m reading a case for Christ–slightly more important haha. What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

