So I decided at the beginning of the month I wanted to work through Jeremiah. I haven’t been very faithful about it, I kind of just read it when I don’t feel like reading anything else in the Bible, lol. But anywho, I’m on chapter six! It’s just really hard to understand, so I usually end up reading each chapter twice (morning and night) to really be able to comprehend it. So I have to make sure I do it on days where I’ll be consistent to follow it up.

Jeremiah was written when the Southern Kingdom, Judah, was about to be taken captive. Jeremiah is telling the people living in Judah that…they’re pretty much going to get owned. And God tells the people why, a lot of different ways.

A big thing that stuck out to me tonight was Jeremiah 6:13-15:

“”From the least to the greatest,
all are greedy for gain;
prophets and priests alike,
all practice deceit.

They dress the wound of my people
as though it were not serious.
‘Peace, peace,’ they say,
when there is no peace.

Are they ashamed of their loathsome conduct?
No, they have no shame at all;
they do not even know how to blush.
So they will fall among the fallen;
they will be brought down when I punish them,”
says the LORD.”

The wound thing is such a vivid picture for me. It’s like, all the priests and prophets were sugar coating the reality of just how sinful the nation had become. It’s like trying to put a band-aid on someone who has a gigantic head wound–it’s totally ineffective, useless, and disappointing.

I have to wonder how many of us do that in our lives, every day.

How many times do we not tell people what they’re doing is wrong? How many times do we expect someone else to reach the lost people around us rather than go do it ourselves? How many times do we try to put a band-aid on a head wound?

Or what about in our relationships. We talk around the problems, just pretend they’re not there. We’re putting a band-aid on a head wound and it just won’t work. We’re so fake with people; it doesn’t do any good at all. It just leads to more problems.

Judah was in for a rude awakening when they realized how lame their priests and prophets had been in lying to them all this time.

Who in your life is in for a rude awakening because you’ve been sugar coating life?

Well, stop it.

One response »

  1. I totally agree! Loved this post. It also made me think about how we sometimes put band-aids on our own sins as well, instead of taking them before the Lord or reaching out for help from someone in the church body/family.

Leave a Reply

