Wow. This book has already stirred something inside me. I can’t explain it. It’s just like…a renewing of my spirit. A reminder of why I love the God I claim. Exactly what I needed.

Francis starts out talking about how…it really is crazy to think about God loving us. We are one of 350 billion galaxies. Do you even understand how tiny that makes us? We think the entire universe is all about us; all for our pleasure,all for us to discover. Our entire earth is like a speck of dust on the bookshelf in the queen’s palace. We are absolutely nothing. We are so ridiculously tiny, so….meaningless in the universe, except for one thing: God loves us. How crazy is that?! God is in love with someone living on the speck of dirt on the queen’s bookshelf! Isn’t that insane?! It blows my mind that God seriously cares that much about me. Like…what am I that He should want me? There’s no reason, other than that He is God. God doesn’t have to explain Himself. He loves us though, and it’s crazy.

In one of the videos, Francis puts it as the Creator of the universe proposing to us. Mm, as a girl, I totally get that. How totally amazing is that? Just imagine God bending on His knee, asking for your hand, asking for you to be His beloved. It’s ridiculous, it’s crazy, and it’s beautiful, and it’s real.

Amazing.

He also brought up a verse…John 14:15. Jesus says: “If you love me, you will obey what I command.”

This one hit me pretty hard. I’ve read in 1 Peter 3 where it says that a woman of God won’t fear. And I’ve been trying not to be afraid with Tyler moving and everything, but it’s so hard. But………………..Here’s Jesus, God incarnate, about to die for me, saying that if I love Him (which I claim to do), I will obey His commands.

Ouch. So here I’m met with a conflict. The two things I’m saying cannot coexist for long. I cannot worry about everything in my life, I cannot fear it, and say I love God. Because if I really, truly love God…I’ll listen to Him. I’ll trust Him. If I fear, if I fret, I’m telling God He’s not big enough to deal with this thing. I’m telling Him that no, His plans aren’t really that great, and that He can’t work in this season.

Which…is crazy. If He loves me (and I am nothing), then why is it so crazy to think that He will work in what I don’t understand?

I don’t understand why there are 350 billion galaxies. But I don’t question it.

I don’t understand why God loves me. But I love that He does. I don’t understand…a lot of things. But God does. And I may never understand them. But that’s ok, because…I’m not God. My job is to trust Him, to show I love Him by obeying His commands.

Just imagine sitting with God. Just imagine being held by Him. Do you feel that? Do you feel His warmth? Do you feel His love?

It’s pretty cool, isn’t it?

I don’t even know how long I just sat in silence, feeling that tonight. It was incredible, God was so real in that moment. I was so at peace, so contented, so in awe. It was so beautiful.

Another thing in the book…Francis said: “It may sound ‘unchristian’ to say that on some mornings I don’t feel like loving God, or I just forget to. But I do. In our world, where hundreds of things distract us from God, we have to intentionally and constantly remind ourselves of Him. ” (p29).

The weird thing is, just a few days ago I told God just about this exact same thing. That right now, I don’t feel like loving God. Right now, it’s hard for me to focus and eagerly anticipate my devotions. But, I choose to. Love is just as much a feeling as it is a choice, and I choose to keep working on my relationship with God, I choose to keep looking for Him, to keep loving Him, even when I don’t feel like it.

It was such a relief for me that…I am not the only person who has ever felt like that. Relationships aren’t always easy, why should ours with God be any different? But it’s when times get tough that it’s like…Well, am I going to be faithful to the One that loves me and that I love, or am I going to selfishly ignore Him?

Answer? Keep loving. Keep looking. You will fall back in love, you will find your hunger again.

Trust me, I know, I just did. And it’s so exciting.

Just listen to this song. Feel God’s presence. Fall madly in love with your Creator. He’s waiting, He loves you so much, and it’s crazy.

One response »

  1. I’m in love with that book! I’ve been giving it to my friends for the past couple of years whenever I got the chance. I hope it serves as a way for you to grow closer and closer to God during this time! You should also check out some of Francis Chan’s sermons if you get the chance too. (I think the name of the church is Cornerstone Church Simi) Blessings!

Leave a Reply

