Side note: This post will be about Christmas after a brief emotional rant.

So I just facebook stalked someone I used to be pretty good friends with. (Well, at least I thought we were. that’s unimportant however.) It’s crazy how much this person has changed. It makes me so sad. But maybe what I thought I knew was just a mask anyway. Maybe the person I thought was such a good friend was only using me–the whole, keep your friends close and your enemies closer, thing. But to me? We weren’t enemies. There was nothing to fight about. I wasn’t going to fight about it; that friendship was more important to me than the thing that worried this person the most. But now our friendship is pretty much gone. And it’s so lame. But what’s even worse than that is just…this person has changed. And it’s not good changes. And it kills me. I think I’m going to text this person…

Anyway. It’s Christmas eve! Crazy.

I’ve had the worst time getting into the Christmas spirit this year. I absolutely hate Christmas shopping, and I hate the fakeness of the season. I get so frustrated that the majority of this “cheer” and “goodwill” is absolutely poppycock that no one will do December 26th. I hate how commercialized everything is. I hate the pressure to go out and spend tons of money on junk no one will want in a few weeks anyway.

But. I love the fact that Jesus came to earth, for me and you, so that we wouldn’t have to die.

It makes me sad that the celebration of the greatest gift of all has turned into such a stressful and busy season. I’ve been trying to think about how I want to celebrate Christmas with my own family someday in a way that won’t be stressful and commercialized. So far my ideas aren’t amazing, but I’m getting there.

I wonder what it would have been like to be a shepherd that night. To be told that a Savior was born, and to be among the first to see him, knowing full well that your lowly estate should make the event completely shut off to you. To see a Savior in the humblest of all places. Shoot, to see the sky light up with ANGELS. It would have been fantastic.

So often we forget how humble Christ’s birth really was, I think. Sure, we say “He was born in a manger” blah blah blah. But our manger scenes don’t smell bad. They don’t have straw poking you everywhere. There are no cows MOOOOOing or sheep…making sheep noises. (Bleating?). As if it weren’t humbling enough for God to become man, He became a man in the very poorest of circumstances.

“For we do not have a high priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but One who has been tempted in all things as we are, yet without sin.” -Hebrews 4:15

That’s one of my favorite verses. It always reminds me that Jesus has walked what I’m walking in, and He made it out alive and better for it, so I will too if I hold to Him. Jesus understands poverty and need. I fear many Americans do not. What we believe we need would make some people in other countries the wealthiest person in town. Our “needs” have expanded from food, water, and shelter to include cable TV, high speed internet, a car, a cell phone…and while we go after these things, our brothers wonder where their next meal will come from. Children sift through garbage to find food. How do we have such tunnel vision to completely ignore the needs of the rest of the world?

Sure, gifts are nice. I’m not saying don’t get Christmas gifts for anyone and deny yourself all the things people want to give you. They’re a nice way to show you care about someone. I’m just saying don’t get consumed with the gifts, and remember those who can’t care for themselves.

Merry Christmas. (Sorry my posts aren’t light and fluffy, this isn’t exactly my favorite time of year lol)

Leave a Reply

