A lot of people don’t understand why I’m so terrified to dance.

Let me just tell you right now that if you’re a guy and you know me, you don’t want to read this, lol.

I think dancing is one of the most romantic and fantastic things people can do (i’m talking like, waltzing). My heart longs to dance. But I won’t let myself dance, not for a long time. I say fiancee, but I feel like if I knew the relationship I was in was heading for marriage I would be ok with it. But that’s another story. The point is, I’m not going to be dancing for a long, long time, even though I want to so, so badly.

I just know if I danced with someone I’d give him my heart. My waist is definitely one of those places that I don’t want to be touched at by just anyone. I don’t know why, there’s just something about it. So dancing, which is romantic, with someone’s hand on my waist, which is also romantic, is just a time bomb for my heart to go insane and leave me hurt.

Look at the movies. They always are super romantic and fall in love during the dances. (Lakehouse. Sleeping Beauty. Cinderella. Beauty and the Beast.) I just can’t do it. Even though everything in me wants to dance…I need to honor my husband and guard my heart. And if that means denying myself an-innocent-for-others-to-do waltz, then so be it.

Yeah. Sorry. I’m in a, “Man, I really want to dance…” mood, and figured that if I wrote down some of my thoughts on it I’d remind myself why that’s a horrible idea to be floating around in my head. Good night :)

One response »

  1. Eddie says:

    I’ve wanted to say something about this for a while now, and haven’t had the mental capacity to put it into decent words, so I’m gonna give it a try now:

    You go girl!!

    :)

    We talked some in our guys talk about how we are all individuals and how something that may not be a stumbling block for one person, may very well be a stumbling block for someone else. Paul even talked about this in Corinthians, his example was meat.

    What may be ok for me, may not be ok for you. What may be ok for you, may not be ok for me. Just because you see someone else doing something doesn’t mean it is ok for you to do.

    and that’s perfectly ok. We are each unique, and have individual walks with Christ- and He deals with us each right where we are. What is most important is that you are aware of your own limitations and are attentive to the Holy Spirit and where He is guiding you in this.

    so I am proud of you for this. Not so much cause you chose not to dance, but because you are aware of yourself and how you need to guard your heart- and you are listening to God’s guidance upon your heart.

    me? I choose not to dance, but it’s mostly because I make myself look like a total fool whenever I do, lol. :)

    so yeah, sorry this is like a couple weeks after you put it up. :) I’m proud of you girl, and so gonna miss you as you head for your new journeys in life. You have been, and continue to be a real blessing in my life. Keep seeking Him in all you do, and let Him continue to work in you. You are super special to me, and I so treasure the time I got to be your youth pastor. You are an amazing young lady, and you make Jesus happy. You’re my favorite!!!
    and you still owe me a hug. :)

Leave a Reply

