Philippians 4:8 is one of my favorite verses. I was reading through Philippians yesterday and today, and the verse in NASB really stuck out to me:

“Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.”

Isn’t that so beautiful? “Think about” just doesn’t have the same connotations as “dwell.” So many times you hear about people “dwelling on the past.” What would happen if we focused on these things, and things of God, with such intensity?

Oh man, this is good. Check out what dictionary.com has to say:

“To live or continue in a given condition or state; to linger over, emphasize, or ponder in thought, speech, or writing”

“Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good report, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, live and continue in these things.”

“Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good report, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, linger over, emphasize, and ponder these things.”

I think I just fell more in love with the NASB’s translation.

What would be like to live in what is true, honorable, right, and pure? What would it be like to linger over the lovely, good, and excellent things, like we let dark chocolate’s sweet richness linger in our mouths? What would happen?

Paul doesn’t come right out and tell us, but just imagine–your state of mind would be on things from God, and things He approves of, rather than the things of this world. That absolutely can’t be a bad thing, at all!

I had to do a lot with my thoughts when I came to school this semester. I struggled with inadequacy when I met my new Audrie. I struggled with wanting to see sweet things in Tyler before it was time. The thing that helped me immensely was this very verse. Whenever I started thinking those thoughts, I realized I had to change my mind over to the things in Philippians 4:8. I’d sing a song to Jesus, read, or just start praying, especially for some kids back home who were having a hard time. And it did wonders for my focus and, over time, I saw those feelings and thoughts decrease. God is so good. He’s so faithful. If you do the hard work of following His guidance, it WILL pay off.

God is so wonderful. Rejoice in the Lord always–again I will say, rejoice. (Phil 4:4)

 

Leave a Reply

