I went by my best friend from elementary school’s house today on the way home from the dentist, and, naturally, it brought up memories from my childhood.

It’s kind of weird to think about, but for like, 75% of my life, at least one of my best friends has been a guy. After Courtney moved in like fifth grade, I was best friends with Thad exclusively until tenth grade when he moved and Tiffany and I got closer, and about a year later the twins came into my life and I was back to having guy best friends.

I remember hanging out with Thad and his cousins (also guys) a ton when I was younger, and then in the latter years of highschool through now, I’ve almost always been hanging out with guys.

It’s just weird to me how a girl who hung out with guys so much for the majority of her life developed such a strong sense of femininity and womanhood. Sure, I was around girls and did all sorts of girly things as a kid, but the people closest to me for a majority of time have been guys. Isn’t that weird? I don’t know if it’s because I was so close to them and yet still aware that we were made to be different that I defined girly things and boyish things or what, it’s just a weird thing to think about.

I guess that’s not really all that profound of a post, I was just thinking about it and thought I’d write it out to see if I got any insights while working through it. Nope, I didn’t, lol.

What about you? Were your friends mostly the same sex? different? even split? How do you think that has affected you? Fun stuff to think about :)

4 responses »

  1. Natalie says:

    All my best friends have been females, and I don’t recall ever having any guy friends until high school, and even at that time I can’t say that I ever got all that close to them as I did with girls. =D

  2. Eddie says:

    since high school, my best friends have almost always been ladies.

    I tend to have more in common with guys (and quite honestly the husbands of some of those ladies are quite similar to me) but tend to be closer with a few ladies in my life.

  3. I love your new layout! It’s been a while since I’ve been on here. Oops! I’m sorry! For some reason I’ve always gotten along better with guys. At least up until the last few years I’ve always felt like girls have some sort of secret agenda or something but I never felt that way with guys. Lately I guess it’s kind of the same between my guy and girl friends. I feel equally close to them.

  4. Natalie says:

    Hey Lindsey! I’ll put you down for a coffee chat Friday! I’m still trying to figure out the details and such, but it’ll probably be a couple of weeks =D Have an awesome weekend!

Leave a Reply

