I worked yesterday.

Usually, we put on weddings. Yesterday, we had a memorial service for a man who was 45 and committed suicide.

I was expecting it to be like, 100 people tops. But the cars kept coming, and coming, and coming.

Our parking lot was literally full. There were absolutely no slots left in the parking lot. I’ve never seen it that full, not even at the biggest weddings I’ve worked. There were over 300 people at this man’s memorial. There were over 300 people hurting because this man took his life.

It was so sad. I don’t know any of the circumstances in his life, but it’s just the idea. When someone commits suicide they’re probably thinking that nobody is going to miss him, and here 300 people showed up at his memorial service.

I don’t really have an epic point for this. Yesterday was just something I will remember for a very, very long time. Don’t ever think you don’t matter. Don’t ever devalue your life.

Leave a Reply

