I went out to dinner tonight with a couple here who are basically my parents away from home. They’re my RD and my professor, but I love them as if they were another set of parents to me. I loved watching them interact. He made her laugh, she made him laugh. They genuinely love each other and they love me. It was such a fantastic night.

My “dad” made me laugh so hard. He’s so genuine and fun yet caring and able to be deep. Even though he didn’t know it, he filled a huge role in my life this semester. I needed a safe guy who would look out for me while reminding me who I am in Christ and affirming the positive he sees in me. I can’t even begin to describe how thankful I am for him. This “dad,” my real dad, and my brother have made the shoes any guy who wants to marry me HUGE. (please note that the following lists have HUGE overlaps. These are like, the main things that stick out from each of these guys.)

From my real dad, I’ve learned what it means to be taken care of consistently through hard work, fixing stuff, and being a servant. I’ve learned what it means to be valued and considered very special and to be very protected.

From my brother, I’ve learned what it means to be able to talk through every bit of life with someone, to be taken care of, to be protected, to be cherished.

From my dad away from dad, I’ve learned that you can’t dismiss people immediately–someone who you think is way too ADD you might just click with if you give it a little effort and have a good attitude. I’ve learned what it means to be protected and taken care of through encouragement, affirmation, and even threats to beat up stupid guys on campus (lol). I’ve also learned how life doesn’t have to be so serious and it’s okay to have fun and laugh a lot.

I want laughter in my home. I want a guy who can make me laugh. And not a laughter at the expense of others. A laughter from joy and silliness and happiness. I admire my parents here so much because of the joy and…fun they have together. I love watching them. I love being with them. I didn’t want to leave tonight (even though we’d been together for four hours lol). I am so, so thankful for these people. I don’t know if they’ll ever understand how much their influence has shaped me, encouraged me, and changed my outlook on life and love. I’ll never forget these two. They are…man. They mean so much to me.

Leave a Reply

