Have I seriously been blogging for four years now?! What is this madness!!

Anyway, I don’t really have anything enlightening to say. I just thought you should know that I’m still alive and kickin’. This semester has been really great, but also really hard in a lot of weird ways.

The first day of school, my dear uncle died. That…was the most pain I have ever experienced in my whole life, I think. Okay maybe that was a bit dramatic, but it was up there with the hardest things I’ve ever had to walk through. Being isolated from my family made it really hard, too. That night I was helping Rory lead worship, and he sneaked up on me reading Psalms, and asked me about what I was reading, and I just bawled. But, doing worship that night was incredibly healing. Between that, and chapel on Friday where Rory led worship again, God spoke powerfully to me about the importance of surrender and worship when life hurts the most.

My girls are awesome. I love being an RA. Sometimes? Sometimes it’s freakishly difficult. Sometimes I just want to shoot whoever knocks on my door instead of invite them in and love them like Jesus. But there have been so many opportunities to speak life into dark situations, hug the broken, and just…nurture people. It really is fantastic mom training. I’ve learned so much about selfless service and patience when you just want to punch something. I’ve also learned the value of alone time.

Twice this semester I have skipped church to be alone with Jesus. Once I stayed in my room, once I went to the park. Those were two of the most refreshing times I’ve had all semester. You see, chapel worship has been sorely lacking this year, and my soul yearns to be able to connect with God through music. So, when that’s not available, long walks in nature and solitude where I can quietly sing whatever I please are the next best option.

I wore capris today, and it is the first day in December in Missouri. Whaaat?! Jesus loves me, that’s all there is to it. 65 degrees on December first in the midwest. Yep. Jesus just really really loves me.

Well, I’ve procrastinated enough. It’s time to work on some more homework so I can be up and perky for Trek Time in the morning! Gosh, I love children’s ministry. I can’t wait to be out of school and focus on it more. Well, that’s a lie. I can wait.

My big theme for the year? Don’t get so caught up in the future, that you miss the present.

Love!

Leave a Reply

